We research everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more

Buying Guide

6 Best 500 Watt Portable Power Stations in 2026: A Practical RV Guide

Six 500W portable power stations with about 512Wh compared on weight, sine wave type, cycle life, recharge time and cost per Wh, from $169 to $359.

By Hardcastle's RV Editors

11 min read6 products evaluated

At 500 watts a portable power station stops being a phone charger and starts running real RV loads: a 12V-class compressor fridge through an AC adapter, a laptop and router, a TV, a CPAP with its humidifier, and a small fan or blender. The catch is that 500W is a line, not a target. Crossing it for even a moment, with a coffee maker or a space heater, trips the inverter, and the listings that pad the figure with a 1,000W surge number are describing a half-second, not a load you can run.

We compared six stations priced from $169 to $359, each with a rated AC output of 500W and roughly 500Wh of storage, on weight, whether the inverter is pure or modified sine wave, number of AC outlets, rated cycle life, recharge time from a wall outlet and cost per watt-hour. The spread in price per watt-hour is more than double, from about $0.33 to $0.70, and that gap, not the wattage, is where most of the buying decision sits. If you need a bigger inverter for a microwave or kettle, jump to the 1000 watt guide.

Hardcastle’s RV field notes

The Rig Fit Check

A quick way to connect the shortlist to the space, workload and ownership details that matter after the box arrives.

Start with the job
Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC leads this shortlist for frequent cycling and quiet bedside CPAP use. Use that fit as a reference point, then compare the alternatives against your own space and workload.
Specs that separate the picks
The first details to compare are 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W. Confirm the exact model and included components before ordering.
Trade-off to plan for
Costs $189.01 more than the cheapest 512Wh pick

The Practical Shortlist

A road-tested-thinking look at 6 options, organized around the job each one suits best.

  1. Best Overall

    Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC

    frequent cycling and quiet bedside CPAP use

    Our take Check price for Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC (opens in a new tab)

  2. Best Value

    ANTPO 500W Portable Power Station, 512Wh LiFePO4

    best energy per dollar with pure sine wave

    Our take Check price for ANTPO 500W Portable Power Station, 512Wh LiFePO4 (opens in a new tab)

  3. Best Ports and UPS

    ALLWEI Portable Power Station 500W, 512Wh LiFePO4 Battery

    desk setups that need a 100W USB-C and UPS

    Our take Check price for ALLWEI Portable Power Station 500W, 512Wh LiFePO4 Battery (opens in a new tab)

  4. Best Budget Pure Sine Wave

    GRECELL 500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh

    occasional backup on a budget

    Our take Check price for GRECELL 500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh (opens in a new tab)

  5. Best Documented Cautions

    EBL 500W Portable Power Station (1000W Peak), 10-Output

    buyers comparing capacity, compatibility, included components and storage needs

    Our take Check price for EBL 500W Portable Power Station (1000W Peak), 10-Output (opens in a new tab)

  6. Cheapest, With a Catch

    Antosynate 500Wh LiFePO4 Portable Power Station, 500W

    simple resistive loads like lamps and chargers

    Our take Check price for Antosynate 500Wh LiFePO4 Portable Power Station, 500W (opens in a new tab)

Why Each Pick Made the Cut

Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC

Best Overall1 of 6

Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC is the better fit when frequent cycling and quiet bedside CPAP use.

Best for

frequent cycling and quiet bedside CPAP use

Why it made the shortlist

The intended use case is frequent cycling and quiet bedside CPAP use. The documented setup centers on 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W, 6,000 cycles, 14 lb, 80 percent in 52 minutes.

What separates it on paper is runs as quiet as 28 dB. Its 6,000 cycles, 14 lb specification sits at between the lower and upper ends of the comparable range in this 5-product comparison. Confirm whether that figure refers to tool weight or working capacity before comparing it directly.

Before committing, account for costs $189.01 more than the cheapest 512Wh pick. Confirm whether the stated figure refers to product weight or rated working capacity. Compare it with your lifting, transport and support requirements before deciding.

Key dimensions & specs

  • 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W
  • 6,000 cycles, 14 lb
  • 80 percent in 52 minutes

Pros

  • Runs as quiet as 28 dB
  • 52-minute 0 to 80 percent AC recharge
  • 10ms UPS switchover with bypass charging

Cons

  • Costs $189.01 more than the cheapest 512Wh pick
  • Listing does not state a warranty length
ANTPO 500W Portable Power Station, 512Wh LiFePO4

Best Value2 of 6

ANTPO 500W Portable Power Station, 512Wh LiFePO4 on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Choose ANTPO 500W Portable Power Station, 512Wh LiFePO4 for about $0.33 per Wh, cheapest 512Wh option.

Best for

best energy per dollar with pure sine wave

Why it made the shortlist

ANTPO 500W Portable Power Station, 512Wh LiFePO4 is positioned for best energy per dollar with pure sine wave. The documented setup centers on 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W, 3,500 plus cycles, 13.2 lb, 24-month warranty.

The feature doing most of the work here is about $0.33 per Wh, cheapest 512Wh option. Its 3,500 plus cycles, 13.2 lb specification sits at between the lower and upper ends of the comparable range in this 5-product comparison. Confirm whether that figure refers to tool weight or working capacity before comparing it directly.

The practical constraint here is title says 500Wh while bullets say 512Wh. Confirm whether the stated figure refers to product weight or rated working capacity. Compare it with your lifting, transport and support requirements before deciding.

Key dimensions & specs

  • 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W
  • 3,500 plus cycles, 13.2 lb
  • 24-month warranty

Pros

  • About $0.33 per Wh, cheapest 512Wh option
  • 24-month warranty stated in the listing
  • Claims 0 to 80 percent in about 1 hour

Cons

  • Title says 500Wh while bullets say 512Wh
  • Warranty is shorter than some larger-brand stations
ALLWEI Portable Power Station 500W, 512Wh LiFePO4 Battery

Best Ports and UPS3 of 6

ALLWEI Portable Power Station 500W, 512Wh LiFePO4 Battery on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

ALLWEI Portable Power Station 500W, 512Wh LiFePO4 Battery makes the shortlist because 100W USB-C plus a second 36W USB-C.

Best for

desk setups that need a 100W USB-C and UPS

Why it made the shortlist

This model is aimed at desk setups that need a 100W USB-C and UPS. The documented setup centers on 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W, 100W USB-C, two AC, 13 lb, 2.5-hour recharge.

The most useful documented advantage is 100W USB-C plus a second 36W USB-C. Its 13 lb, 2.5-hour recharge specification sits at the lower end of the comparable range in this 5-product comparison. Confirm whether that figure refers to tool weight or working capacity before comparing it directly.

The main limitation to plan around is listing does not state a warranty length. Confirm whether the stated figure refers to product weight or rated working capacity. Compare it with your lifting, transport and support requirements before deciding.

Key dimensions & specs

  • 512Wh LiFePO4, 500W
  • 100W USB-C, two AC
  • 13 lb, 2.5-hour recharge

Pros

  • 100W USB-C plus a second 36W USB-C
  • UPS function protects a PC or router
  • Full AC recharge claim of 2.5 hours
  • Weighs 13 pounds, the lightest 512Wh here

Cons

  • Listing does not state a warranty length
  • Costs $99.01 more than the ANTPO for similar Wh
GRECELL 500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh

Best Budget Pure Sine Wave4 of 6

GRECELL 500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

The strongest case for GRECELL 500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh is two pure sine wave AC outlets at $179.97.

Best for

occasional backup on a budget

Why it made the shortlist

For occasional backup on a budget, this is one of the more relevant configurations in the shortlist. The documented setup centers on 519.48Wh lithium, 500W, two AC, wireless pad, 14.1 lb, 6-hour wall charge.

Its case starts with two pure sine wave AC outlets at $179.97. Its 14.1 lb, 6-hour wall charge specification sits at the upper end of the comparable range in this 5-product comparison. Confirm whether that figure refers to tool weight or working capacity before comparing it directly.

The trade-off worth checking first is aC recharge takes 6 to 7 hours. Confirm whether the stated figure refers to product weight or rated working capacity. Compare it with your lifting, transport and support requirements before deciding.

Key dimensions & specs

  • 519.48Wh lithium, 500W
  • Two AC, wireless pad
  • 14.1 lb, 6-hour wall charge

Pros

  • Two pure sine wave AC outlets at $179.97
  • 10W wireless pad and 60W USB-C PD
  • Built-in SOS flashlight with strobe mode
  • Charges up to 10 devices at the same time

Cons

  • AC recharge takes 6 to 7 hours
EBL 500W Portable Power Station (1000W Peak), 10-Output

Best Documented Cautions5 of 6

EBL 500W Portable Power Station (1000W Peak), 10-Output on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

EBL 500W Portable Power Station (1000W Peak), 10-Output is the better fit when buyers comparing capacity, compatibility, included components and storage needs.

Best for

buyers comparing capacity, compatibility, included components and storage needs

Why it made the shortlist

The intended use case is buyers comparing capacity, compatibility, included components and storage needs. The documented setup centers on 519.48Wh NCM, 500W, two AC, 10W wireless pad, 14.1 lb, 23V solar limit.

What separates it on paper is publishes a 23V solar input limit. Its 14.1 lb, 23V solar limit specification sits at the upper end of the comparable range in this 5-product comparison. Confirm whether that figure refers to tool weight or working capacity before comparing it directly.

Before committing, account for nCM chemistry with a shorter life than LiFePO4. Confirm whether the stated figure refers to product weight or rated working capacity. Compare it with your lifting, transport and support requirements before deciding.

Key dimensions & specs

  • 519.48Wh NCM, 500W
  • Two AC, 10W wireless pad
  • 14.1 lb, 23V solar limit

Pros

  • Publishes a 23V solar input limit
  • Two pure sine wave AC outlets, 10 outputs total
  • States a 90-day storage recharge schedule
  • 60W USB-C PD charges most laptops

Cons

  • NCM chemistry with a shorter life than LiFePO4
  • Costs $120.02 more than the same-capacity GRECELL
Antosynate 500Wh LiFePO4 Portable Power Station, 500W

Cheapest, With a Catch6 of 6

Antosynate 500Wh LiFePO4 Portable Power Station, 500W on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Choose Antosynate 500Wh LiFePO4 Portable Power Station, 500W for cheapest of the six at $169.

Best for

simple resistive loads like lamps and chargers

Why it made the shortlist

Antosynate 500Wh LiFePO4 Portable Power Station, 500W is positioned for simple resistive loads like lamps and chargers. The documented setup centers on 500Wh LiFePO4, 500W, modified sine wave AC, 60W USB-C PD, one AC.

The feature doing most of the work here is cheapest of the six at $169. Against the other 5 picks, the useful comparison starts with 500Wh LiFePO4, 500W and modified sine wave AC. Those details show whether its configuration suits the job better than a neighboring recommendation.

The practical constraint here is modified sine wave, risky for CPAPs and electronics. Confirm the exact model number and included components before ordering. Check dimensions, compatibility and maintenance needs against the way you plan to use and store it.

Key dimensions & specs

  • 500Wh LiFePO4, 500W
  • Modified sine wave AC
  • 60W USB-C PD, one AC

Pros

  • Cheapest of the six at $169
  • LiFePO4 chemistry stated in the title
  • 60W USB-C PD charges a laptop
  • Three recharge methods including solar and car

Cons

  • Modified sine wave, risky for CPAPs and electronics
  • Single AC outlet and no cycle number or warranty listed

How We Built This Shortlist

Each pick was assessed across 5 criteria weighted for real-world use.

Rated AC output
We kept only listings whose rated AC output is 500W, and we separated the 1,000W surge figure from continuous power so a half-second boost is not counted as capacity.
Waveform and chemistry
We checked whether the inverter is pure or modified sine wave and which battery chemistry the listing names, since those two facts decide whether a CPAP or a laptop is safe on it.
Weight and handling
We compared listed weights from 13 to 14.1 pounds and dimensions, because 500W units are the point where a one-person carry into a camper gets awkward.
Recharge speed
We compared wall, car and solar recharge claims, from about 1 hour to 80 percent up to 6 to 7 hours for a full charge.
Cost per watt-hour
We divided price by listed Wh, from about $0.33 to $0.70, and noted what the extra money buys in cycle life, ports or warranty.

What Matters Before You Choose a 500 Watt Portable Power Station

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

  1. Continuous versus surge wattage

    A 500W station can hold 500 watts continuously, while the 1,000W surge number covers a motor start for a moment. Going over the continuous figure shuts the inverter off, usually when a coffee maker or hair dryer starts. Look for the word rated or continuous next to the number and add the running watts of everything you plan to run at once.

  2. Waveform type

    Pure sine wave matches household power, while modified sine wave is a stepped approximation. A CPAP, a laptop brick or an appliance with a motor can overheat, hum or fail on modified sine wave. Check the listing for the words pure sine wave, and treat an unstated waveform as a question for the seller.

  3. Battery chemistry and cycles

    LiFePO4 cells are rated for thousands of cycles and handle heat better than NCM cells, which wear faster. A station used weekly at 3,000 cycles lasts decades, but at several hundred it can wear out in a few years. Look for the chemistry name and a cycle count, and note when the listing gives neither.

  4. Watt-hours per dollar

    The 500W figure is the inverter, while Wh is the fuel tank, so divide price by Wh to compare. Here that ranges from about $0.33 to $0.70, so the same 512Wh costs $189.01 more on the Jackery than on the ANTPO. Compare the Wh in the bullets and the title, since a few listings quote both 500Wh and 512Wh.

  5. Weight and carry

    At 13 to 14.1 pounds these units are heavier than the 300W class, and a handle that digs in matters when you carry one up RV steps. A pound or two will not matter if it stays on a shelf. Check the listed weight, the handle type and whether a carrying strap is included.

  6. Recharge speed and sources

    Recharge claims run from about 1 hour to 80 percent up to 6 to 7 hours for a full wall charge, and solar adds 6 to 9 hours with a 100W panel. Slow charging matters when you have a short window between trips. Look for the AC input wattage and the solar voltage limit, such as the 23V cap on the EBL.

Match a 500 Watt Portable Power Station to Your RV

By What You Run

The same 500W label hides big differences in waveform and runtime, so start from the load.

Your situationRecommended pickWhy
CPAP with heated humidifier overnightJackery 500 v228 dB, pure sine wave, 512Wh
Laptop desk setup with a routerALLWEI 500W100W USB-C, UPS and 2 AC outlets
Weekend camping lights, fan and phonesANTPO 500W512Wh at the lowest pure sine price
Occasional storm backup, rarely cycledGRECELL 519WhTwo pure sine AC outlets for $179.97
Wireless pad and clear limits wantedEBL 500WPublished 23V solar limit and 90-day care
Lamps and chargers only, lowest priceAntosynate 500Wh$169, modified sine wave

Scroll sideways to see every column.

As a rough estimate, a 60W load on 512Wh runs about 7 hours before inverter losses.

By Budget

BudgetRecommended pick
Under $175ANTPO 500W at $169.99 or Antosynate 500Wh at $169
$175 to $200GRECELL 519Wh at $179.97
$265 to $300ALLWEI 500W at $269 or EBL 500W at $299.99
Around $360Jackery 500 v2 at $359

Pure Sine Wave vs Modified Sine Wave

Pure sine wave
Matches grid power, so CPAPs, laptop adapters and anything with a motor controller behave normally. The Jackery 500 v2, ANTPO 500W, ALLWEI 500W, GRECELL 519Wh and EBL 500W all state pure sine wave.
Modified sine wave
A stepped approximation that works for lamps and resistive chargers but can cause heat, buzz or failures in electronics. The Antosynate 500Wh is the only one here that states it.

For an RV used with a CPAP, laptops or a fridge, default to pure sine wave unless you only plug in simple chargers.

By How Often You Cycle It

Usage patternRecommended pick
Daily or near-daily cyclingJackery 500 v2 (6,000 cycles)
Weekly use on camping weekendsANTPO 500W (3,500 plus) or ALLWEI 500W (3,000)
A few times a year, storm kitGRECELL 519Wh
Low-cost spare in a tow vehicleAntosynate 500Wh

For Bedside CPAP in a Camper Specifically

Look for
A pure sine wave inverter, a fanless or very quiet design, and at least 400Wh. A 60W CPAP with humidifier uses roughly 480Wh over 8 hours before losses, so plan for about 512Wh if the humidifier runs all night.
In this comparison
The Jackery 500 v2 runs as quiet as 28 dB and has a 10ms UPS, while the ANTPO 500W is the cheaper pure sine alternative. Avoid the Antosynate 500Wh for this use.

When to Spend More

Spend more if
You cycle often or want quiet and speed: the Jackery 500 v2 at $359 adds a 6,000 cycle rating and a 52-minute 80 percent recharge, and the ALLWEI 500W at $269 adds a 100W USB-C and UPS.
Save if
The unit mostly waits for storms: the ANTPO 500W at $169.99 gives 512Wh of pure sine wave and a 24-month warranty for $189.01 less than the Jackery.

Before You Bring One Home

What can a 500 watt portable power station run in an RV?

Laptops, TVs, routers, phone charging, lights, a CPAP and small appliances such as a blender or a compact fridge fit under 500W. A microwave, kettle, hair dryer or air conditioner will trip it. Add up the running wattage on each device label and keep the total under 500W.

Is modified sine wave okay for a CPAP?

Many CPAP makers recommend pure sine wave, and some warn against modified sine wave because it can damage the motor or humidifier. The Antosynate listing itself says to confirm CPAP use with the manufacturer. Choose a pure sine wave unit such as the Jackery 500 v2 or ANTPO 500W for medical equipment.

Is the Jackery 500 v2 worth $189 more than the ANTPO?

If you cycle the battery often, yes: 6,000 cycles against 3,500 plus, 28 dB operation and a faster 52-minute 80 percent charge. For a storm kit or weekend use, the ANTPO covers most needs at $169.99. The Jackery listing does not state a warranty.

How long does 512Wh last at 60 watts?

Divide 512 by 60 for roughly 8.5 hours as an upper bound, then subtract 10 to 15 percent for inverter losses, giving about 7 hours. Heated humidifiers and fridges draw more, so measure with a plug-in watt meter. This is an estimate, not a listing claim.

Can I charge it from my RV's solar panels?

Yes if the panel voltage stays under the station's input limit, which the EBL lists as 23V. Match the open-circuit voltage to the limit before wiring, and use a 100W panel for 6 to 9 hour recharges in full sun. Check the listing's solar input range before buying a panel.

How should I store a 500W station over winter?

Store it indoors at about half to 70 percent charge with AC output off, and top up every 90 days as the EBL listing advises, or every three months per the GRECELL listing. A closed camper in summer or freezing weather is hard on any battery.

Bottom Line

Best overall: Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station, 512Wh, 500W AC — best overall pick in this roundup. See the full verdicts above for every pick, with pros, cons and who each one suits.

Browse all 500 watt portable power stations on Amazon — Prime-eligible options with current pricing.